Review: Sterling Redmond by Kim Nathan

Today I am pleased to present a review of Sterling Redmond by Kim Nathan.  Also, be sure to check out the other Tour Stops for this tour!

Title:  Sterling Redmond
Author:  Kim Nathan
Publisher:  Self-Published
Format:  eBook
Pages:  347
Genre:  Historical Romance
Stars:  4
Buy Now:  Amazon  §  Nook  §  Smashwords  §  iTunes

About the Book:   Set in Gilded Age America, a young woman must choose between circumstance and destiny. When orphaned as small children, Sterling Redmond and her older sister Charlotte are raised by their grandfather at the family’s Maryland country estate of Northampton. Charlotte blossoms into a famed Baltimore beauty, but Sterling is more interested in books and horseback riding than feminine pursuits. Concerned that her niece will never find a suitable husband among the local Baltimore gentry, Madame De Chant whisks Sterling away to Belle Époque Paris in search of a gentleman who can understand her. In their absence, Nicholas Pembroke, the son of an English earl, takes up residence in the manor bordering Northampton. When Sterling and her aunt return to America for Charlotte’s wedding, Sterling finds that her perfect husband is living right next door. But there is a problem: he is already engaged to marry Charlotte.

Be sure to see what others had to say by following the Tour Stops

My Review:

Dancing about in an era with a storyline that reminds one of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer, the author has created a compelling story, complete with the fanciful society setting of the time.   It was a quick read despite the length, and the characters of Sterling and her sister are reasonably well-developed, with Sterling being far more flushed out and complete.

The one complaint I do have with this story was the ever-variant point of view. While we have the majority of the story told in Sterling’s point of view, there are passing inputs and perspectives from other characters that are not clearly defined, often requiring me to go back once I have realized the voice had changed.  It was the one strong mark against the book in my count, although there were a significant number of deaths, which did mute the tone somewhat.

It was, however, a fun read and as her first published book, certainly one that should encourage readers to follow this author’s career.

*I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review for IOB Tours.  I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility

Read on for more about the author, including contact links and an abbreviated interview

About the Author:   Kim Nathan is an American author of romance fiction, including Sterling Redmond, a historical romance, and Dreaming Montana, a paranormal romance. Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland, she relocated to Seattle, Washington in 1994, where she lives with her husband and cats.

You can find Kim Nathan at:

Website  §  Facebook  §  goodreads.com  §  Twitter

And the “Mini Interview”

Who I am:  an emerging novelist

What I wanted to be when I grew up: an angel, then later – a writer. As a child, whenever some kind stranger would remark on my dimples, my mother told me to say, “that’s where the angels kissed me when I was born.” Seriously.

What I ended up doing for a living: business analyst for Corporate America. Wow – big disconnect, huh? I left that career in December 2010.

City I was born in: Baltimore, Maryland

City where I live now: Seattle, Washington

Education:  Catholic school: kindergarten – 6th grade
Public school:  7th grade – high school graduation
University:  1 year, then…
School of Life: ongoing

What’s most important to me: my family, my friends, my freedom to create, and my ability to serve and contribute

Favorite personality traits (in myself and others): courage, honesty, compassion

People I admire: Oprah, Sting, Louise L. Hay, Marc Allen, Jonathan Fields, and anyone who follows their dreams

Writers who influenced me: Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Victoria Holt, Anya Seton, Mary Stewart, Susan Howatch, Milan Kundera, Margaret Atwood, Jane Roberts, Marc Allen, Jonathan Fields, Steven Pressfield

Best Novel I’ve ever read: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Favorite things to do when I’m not writing: dining out with my husband, reading in my garden with my cats near by, leisurely walks in nature, Nia dancing, sharing time with my girlfriends, vacationing in Europe…

Favorite vacation spots:  Amsterdam, Italy, Germany

Intention: To inspire and entertain my readers and to live a life of courage, purpose and connection.

Leave a Reply

