Review: The Golden Chariot by Chris Karlsen

Today’s review is a suspenseful romantic mystery: The Golden Chariot by Chris Karlsen

Title: Golden Chariot
Series: Dangerous Waters, Book 1
Author: Chris Karlsen
Genre: Romance, Suspense, Thriller
Publisher: Books to Go Now
Format:  eBook
Pages:  316 /Words: 96,700
Purchase:  Amazon | B&N | KoBo | Smashwords
Stars:  4

Book Description:  Myth, murder, and money clash in this gripping undersea adventure. The rare discovery of a ship sunk during the time of the Trojan War has been found off the coast of Turkey, near Troy. Charlotte Dashiell is an American nautical archaeologist and thrilled to be part of the recovery team. The wreck may contain proof of her highly controversial theory about the Trojan War.

Charlotte is present when the Turkish government agent assigned to guard the site is murdered. Her possible involvement and a questionable connection to a private collector of black market relics bring her under suspicion. Atakan Vadim is the Turkish agent sent to investigate her. Unknown to either of them, the smuggler behind the murder plans to steal a valuable artifact and frame Charlotte for the theft…after they murder her.

See what other stops are on the tour, and see who is hosting a giveaway here: Tour Stops

My Review: 

Archaeology is an endlessly fascinating subject, and the treasures found are often in dispute with countries who claim the artifacts against the backdrop of the teams that find them.  This is a book that focuses on an aquatic archaeologist, Charlotte, who believes she has located a ship that was sunk in the battle of Troy, detailed in the Iliad. The Turkish archaeologist also assigned to this dig is less certain, and has many reasons to mistrust Charlotte, after she was unfortunate enough to witness the death of a state agent placed to ensure the safety of any artifacts recovered.

With a tremendous amount of research into place and procedure, the author has managed to seamlessly blend the multitude of facts into this mystery / suspense / romance in a manner that makes for a page turning read.  The characters are developed with panache and substance: both the personal quirks and professional pride combine in a unique way to create a palpable picture.

Dialogue is well-developed and feels as if it could happen, while the twists and turns in both the archaeology and the murder mystery have many possible solutions that are scuttled until the picture is complete at the end of the book.  A truly unique and well-crafted mystery, with a little romance tossed in to spice up the interactions of the characters.

*I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review on the FMB Tour. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

About the Author:  I was born and raised in Chicago. My father was a history professor and my mother was, and is, a voracious reader. I grew up with a love of history and books. 

My parents also love traveling, a passion they passed on. I wanted to see the places I read about, see the land and monuments from the time periods that fascinated me. I’ve had the good fortune to travel extensively throughout Europe, the Near East, and North Africa.

I am a retired police detective. I spent twenty-five years in law enforcement with two different agencies. My desire to write came in my early teens. After I retired, I decided to pursue that dream.

I currently live in the Pacific Northwest with my husband, four rescue dogs and a rescue horse.

Website | Facebook | Pinterest

3 thoughts on “Review: The Golden Chariot by Chris Karlsen

  1. Good morning,
    I would like to thank Gaele for taking the time to read and review Golden Chariot. I am thrilled she enjoyed the story. I hope to release the sequel, Byzantine Gold, late next month. Many of the favorite characters from Golden Chariot return in it.
    For those interested, a trailer and book board for Golden Chariot can be seen on my website and on pinterest.
    I love to hear from readers and hopefully will hear from some of you today.
    Chris Karlsen

  2. Hello! I was in the Golden Chariot review tour for last december. I was looking at the other stops that were on the book tour with me and seeing if they had noticed that the second book is available for review from a different book tour site that I follow. I just thought you might like to know if you are interested in reviewing the second book. I saw that only one other person besides me has expressed interest in the tour and it is supposed to run next month. Just wanted to spread the word! Oh, haha. It is at goddessfishpromotions, if you are interested. (:

Leave a Reply

