Review: The Forbidden Trilogy by Kimberly Kinrade

innovativeonlinebooktours.jpgToday I am pleased to present reviews for the Forbidden Trilogy by Kimberly Kinrade as part of the Innovative Online Book tours – please be sure to see the other tour stops to see what others thought about this trilogy, and be sure to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway.

the forbidden trilogy.jpg
The Forbidden Trilogy
Kimberly Kinrade
Forbidden Mind
Forbidden Fire 
Forbidden Life
: Evolved Publishing
eBook Format
Buy Now:
Stars: 4

About the Trilogy:  

“A thrilling, dark and deeply romantic read.” ~Refracted Light Young Adult Book Reviews

“The plot is very ALIAS and DARK ANGEL-like with X-MEN as its backdrop (awesome combo!).” ~Sour Skittles Book Blog

Paranormal teens with unimaginable powers. A secret organization with deadly intentions. When Sam, a girl who reads minds, meets Drake, a boy who controls minds, they discover their lives aren’t what they thought.

Together, they must escape their fate and free their friends, before they lose everyone they love.

This special edition omnibus includes the entire Forbidden Trilogy–Forbidden Mind, Forbidden Fire and Forbidden Life, as well as extensive bonus content. Meet the author in an in-depth Q&A, get to know your favorite characters better, enjoy never-before-revealed interlude scenes and so much more.

Series Review:     I give the Forbidden Trilogy  4 out of 5 stars

This Omnibus edition is the author’s thank you to the readers.  Containing all 3 books in the series:  Forbidden Mind, Forbidden Fire and Forbidden Life, with some bonus short stories that are “between the books”.

This is an author who truly has a talent for character and world building, with the ability to craft unique and distinct voices in each of her characters, and leave the reader with no doubts as to who is speaking.  Additionally, she has built a world that is both familiar and unique, that intermingle familiar settings with well detailed unusual settings.

As a series, this should be as popular as Harry Potter or Hunger Games: appealing and appropriate for readers of YA from about 15 years old an up.  You won’t be disappointed if you pick this up for yourself or that ‘reluctant’ reader in your house.

I received the Omnibus collection eBook from the author for purpose of honest review for Innovative Online Book tours. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About the Author:  Kimberly Kinrade was born with ink in her veins and magic in her heart. She writes fantasy and paranormal stories for children, YA and adults and still kimbkinrade.jpgbelieves in magic worlds. Check out her YA paranormal novels Forbidden Mind and Forbidden Fire and her illustrated children’s fantasy chapter books Lexie World, and Bella World, all on Amazon.

She lives with her three little girls who think they’re ninja princesses with super powers, her two dogs who think they’re humans and her husband, also known as the sexy Russian Prince, who is the love of her life and writing partner.

Book List §  Fan Fun at IPI § Join Lost Kids § goodreads § Website § @KimberlyKinrade
§  @IPIAcademy § Facebook § IPI Facebook

To read my reviews of all 3 books – read moreMy Reviews:  

Forbidden Mind
4 Stars

I had bought this book not long after I first got my kindle, and have now read it a second time as part of a review tour for Innovative Online Book Tours.  Originally I thought that this book would have a similar feel to X-Men Origins, as they both have brought together kids with paranormal abilities into a controlled setting.  However, the story loses all of the reminders from that film almost instantly as you are drawn into the world that Sam inhabits and see her struggles.  With twists and turns and an edge of your seat need to see what the kids will make of each new discovery, as a first in the series this is a perfect lead in to build a history and world, and set the ultimate conflict between controlling your own destiny and simply being controlled.


The writer has a style that smoothly integrates the action and character relationships with an underlying tension provided by the ‘what next’.  While the story does veer off into elements that are darker than manipulation of young adults for their powers, it should be noted that there are mentions of past abuse and some darkly violent scenes.  As part of the Trilogy, this is an excellent lead in that will keep readers engaged and looking forward to the next episode.


I previously purchased an eBook copy prior to the offer to review for IOB Tours was presented. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

Forbidden Fire
4 Stars

Returning with Sam and Drake from the first book and adding in her friends left behind the walls at the center: the twists and turns that this installment take have increased the ante for all the characters.  As the story progresses, the kids are growing into their powers and developing abilities that are far more than anyone expected.

Continuing nicely where the first book ended, as the kids age, their actions and dilemmas are also more adult in nature.  The involvement of the differences about the moral use of power that flares up with Drake and Sam increases the already tense feel to the book, as they are still running and hiding from those who want to control them: and they are concerned for friends left behind.

Add to the “good and bad” there are several elements of gray from the less noble of the characters, when no one act is ever strictly good or wholly bad once you see the motivations.  It is a book that I found fractionally better than the first, the emotional investment in the characters was already established in book one, and strengthened with this twisty story.

I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review for Innovative Online Book tours. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

Forbidden Life
4 Stars

Building to a climax for the main characters, this third book in the trilogy brings the characters into the most difficult and life-effecting decisions they have yet been faced with.  There is a stronger feeling of sci-fi to this book, highlighting the author’s ability to world-build and integrate new elements without losing the other elements that readers have come to love and enjoy.  The kids are all growing up, and facing decisions that are, if possible, even more adult-like than any before.

Additional character perspectives are added as we are introduced to even more obstacles for the familiar characters to face, building the tension in this entertaining installment.  This story provides a new insight into the backgrounds of the kids and their would-be controllers, while possibly turning some of your previously held thoughts on their ear.

This story nicely wraps up most of the questions, and will leave you satisfied when you turn the final page, but you will find that the characters and questions about “where are they now” will stay with you. With a skill for developing point of view and maintaining a near breakneck pace in the action, the author has crafted a conclusion to this series that will delight.  A good series read for an older YA reader (15+).

I was provided an eBook from the author for purpose of honest review for Innovative Online Book tours. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.




One thought on “Review: The Forbidden Trilogy by Kimberly Kinrade

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s