Indies Rock Review: Till Death Do Us Part by Sonya L. Williams

IndieButton_edited-1

Today I have a book that is far from my normal read, Till Death Do Us Part by Sonya L. Williams.

IMAG0606-1
Title:  Till Death Do Us Part
Author: Sonya L. Williams
Hardcover and eBook
Xulon Press
152 Pages
ISBN:  978-1600349287
Buy Now: Xulon Press § Amazon

Stars:  3
About the Book:

Weddings are often the happiest day of a couple’s life. At least for the bride it is. It’s all about her. The bride has the chance to get all dolled up, be waited on hand and foot, then walk down the aisle looking like the beautiful princess that her daddy always told her she was. Now the bride being the main focus of attention is no problem to me at all. It’s when we leave the wedding and go into marriage still thinking “It’s still all about me.” In wedding vows we promise to stay together “Til death do us part” but as for a relationship with God, until death, we are apart. Sin separates us from God. I’ve finally learned that to live in Christ we must die to ourselves. In marriage, we must die to many of our own desires and live for our spouses. When we live for God, He will show us how to live for our spouses. When we live selfishly we will always be craving for more but when we live selflessly, God will see to it that our needs are always supplied and our desires are satisfied. God will always see to it that you reap what you sow. In sharing some of my own experiences and what I’ve learned, I pray that I can sow seeds of hope into the lives of others. This book is to show my journey towards building a relationship with God. As you will see, I too have lived in sin. We were all born into sin. Fortunately, God gives us free will to choose to continue living in sin or die to sin and receive new life in Him.

My Review:

I’ll be completely honest and admit that I am not a Christian. I’m not quite an athiest, but to say that I am a skeptic is not far from the truth.  While I can appreciate other’s paths and journeys in faith – I don’t have that “personal” relationship that others claim.  And I don’t have a problem with that.  But my lack of grasping the personal relationship as detailed in this book does not impede my ability to review the book with an open mind.

The author has created a series of “steps” that are detailed in poetry, and sprinkled with quotes from pastors, the bible and detailed conversations with others about her trials.  Much of this poetry feels better suited to a spoken word format rather than read, while the author has experienced a rebirth in her attitudes and approaches, there is a voice that approaches, but does not quite mature to an adult level in its construct.  Sadly, I was hoping to find more in the poetic construct, although I will say that the author has a very distinct voice with a rhythmical phrasing that is well suited to the poetic form.

What I didn’t find was a great deal of reasons for me to see why this journey was a worthwhile one – the quotes from pastors all felt as if they were delivered as rote, without a great deal of detail as to how she would put the information into practice.  I see her joy with discovering particular passages, but what was missing so often for me was the sense that these changes were something she was struggling with, or had incorporated.  Which is not a bad thing, as I think this is a first baby step on her journey, and the full impact is still being realized.

I can say that I think if someone is searching, and feels as if they are the only person who has had these questions, concerns or feelings, that this will provide them a sense of commonality with another person who is traveling the same pathway.  Most certainly geared to a Christian reader, or one who is exploring their path, this book may be helpful to them.

I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review as part of the Indies Rock promotion on I am, Indeed. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About the Author:  

Sonya L. Williams, A.K.A. Mz Agape (pronounced ah-gah-pay) is an author, actor and spoken word artist. She began writing song lyrics at the age of 9. Her passion for poetry began to blossom throughout her teenage years as she was often recognized in the Potomac High School literary magazine. Sonya published her first book, ‘Til Death Do Us Part, in June, 2011.

As an actor, she has played a variety of roles in stage plays written and produced by Rosie L. Rogers: Driven, Make Room For Love, Love Changes Everything and three time award winning stage play of the 2011 Doug E. Doug comedy competition, The Ugly Baby. As a spoken word artist, she has also allowed her poetry to come to life on the stages of many open mic nights at Poetry nightclub in Las Vegas, Nevada, as well as Busboys and Poets in Shirlington, Virgnia.

As a born-again believer, Mz Agape has made it her mission to share the love of Christ through her talent of writing. From book writing, to spoken word, to theater arts, she has allowed her testimonies and talent to be used to glorify God. In doing so, she has continued to fulfill her own favorite quote “If my mess can be the message to set just one soul free, then I’ll make it my mission to let God use me.”

Sonya L. Williams, author of ‘Til Death Do Us Part is an aspiring actor and spoken word artist making her mark in the DMV area. As a creative writer, she has allowed her poetry to come to life from book pages to open mic stages at venues such as Poetry nightclub in Las Vegas, Nevada, as well as Busboys and Poets in Shirlington, Virgnia.

Find the Author:  Website §  Facebook § goodreads § @mzagape

Leave a Reply

