Review: Moon Rise: Unbidden Magic Book #2, by Marilee Brothers

MoonRise-page1_zpsf3a50c1b-1_zps7112bed7Moon Rise is featured today.  This is a long tour with lots of good information, be sure to check out the othertour stops.

Moon Rise cover

Title:  Moon Rise
Author:  Marilee Brothers
Format:  Paperback, eBook and AudioBook
Publisher:  Bell Bridge Books
Pages:  254
ISBN:  978-0982175699
Purchase Now:   Amazon  §  Barnes & Noble
Genre:  YA Fantasy
Series: Unbidden Magic Series
Best Read in Order: yes
Stars:  4
About the Book:   Her mom’s still dating losers. Her boyfriend’s gone back to Mexico. Dad still hasn’t told his wife and kids that she exists. At school, the drama queens and bullies still rule. But worst of all for Allie Emerson–aka the Star Seeker of an old Gypsy prophecy–is that her powers have taken a hike. She can’t read minds anymore. She can’t move stuff just by looking at it. The other Star Seekers are counting on her psychic gifts more than ever, and the evil Tri-marks are closing in, eager to snatch her magic moonstone necklace while she’s helpless. The hot new guy at school is ready and willing to fight her battles, but he comes with some wicked baggage. “Dear Diary: I’m a little worried. My new BF is a demon.”

Welcome again to Allie Emerson’s funny, scary, amazing, and always unpredictable life, as the girl voted least likely to save the world from evil.

Book Review:

I much preferred this installment in the series, picking up where the other left off, new twists were added, and we get to experience more of Allie’s growth and of course, the plot thickens around her.
With a simple good versus evil battle set up beautifully with not so simply recognized evildoers, this installment has plenty of twists and turns to keep readers engaged, and even giggling. Seriously – who would think that a serial ass pincher could lead to so many interconnected yet outwardly unrelated events?

While we lose the potential for one love interest in Allie’s life, and she both changes schools and encounters a new set of people to deal with, we also meet a new ‘potential’ love interest, although their relationship starts as ‘make believe’.  Interactions, both with friends and potential foes is well written and the conversations are solid and real-feeling, despite the otherworldly nature of many of the topics up for discussion.

this book neatly leads into the next in the series, with a well-needed build, added mystery and of course, more bad guys to ferret out.  Including estranged members of Allie’s family also help to provide an interesting foil to Faye’s often misguided judgments and behaviors, a nice touch.  I am very much looking forward to book 3 in this series.

I received an eBook copy through NetGalley for purpose of honest review for the IOB Tours.  I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

About the Author:

I am a life long resident of Washington state and the author of a young adult urban fantasy series (Unbidden Magic) as well as two adult novels, Castle Ladyslipper and the Rock and Roll Queen of Bedlam. My husband and I spend five months a year in southern California, not far from Los Angeles and San Diego. I spent a number of years as a teacher and school counselor. Those years gave me a wonderful array of characters to write about. In addition to writing, I love to read, spend time with my family and hack my way around the golf course. I’m on Facebook, Twitter and love hearing from readers. I have a blog called Book Blather and welcome all those who love book. http://bookblatherblog.blogspot.com. Please visit my website, http://www.marileebrothers.com. If you send me a comment, I promise I will answer.

Leave a Reply

