Indie Authors Rock Review: Ramblings in Ireland by Kerry Dwyer

15821729

Ramblings in Ireland
Kerry Dwyer
Self-Published
173 Pages
ISBN: 978-1478392767
Genre: Memoir / Travel elements
Stars:  4
Purchase NowAmazon § Barnes & Noble § Smashwords 

About the Book:

This is not a book about rambling in Ireland. It tells the tale of one particular walking trip and the memories and musings it inspired. Exploring the West of Ireland is a time for meditation, spiritual reflection and strengthening the bonds of life. More practically the ability to read a map might have proved helpful. The tourist office in Ireland has all their paths clearly marked. You can’t go wrong if you follow that little yellow man. Or can you? As British ex-patriate Kerry Dwyer leads Bertrand, her trusting French husband, astray once more, they reminisce and reflect upon accents and accidents, family and friends, love and what it means to be alive. Bertrand doesn’t mind getting lost – he loves Kerry all the more for going off the beaten track. This is a book about ramblings in Ireland. Walk with Kerry and Bertrand and follow where your thoughts lead you.

Book Review:

Let me start by saying that traveling with Kerry and her husband Bertrand would be a hoot! In a story that is only part-travel diary, she manages to impart humor, scenery and a touch of personal growth into a simple trek in the West Counties.

Having the maps as your guide is far less important than finding those moments to just savor the moment, the sights and the people you encounter: finding a way to make memories together as you are slowly putting one foot in front of the other to see what is over the next hill….

This is not your basic “then we went here” and “stop there” sort of story. Peppered with conversations, thoughts and tangents about packing, purchasing and even what type of undergarments one packs, each piece has a moment where the reader will see some common bonds or a moment to laugh. Kerry’s humor and take each moment as it arrives attitude clearly shines in this story, and should encourage those contemplating a more “rigid schedule” in their vacation to perhaps just take a moment and go left, even though the guide says right.

If you are wanting a book that is littered with directives, directions and highly rated tourist attractions: this is not the book for you.  This is exploration of relationships, communication and the world around you, with a moment to appreciate each thing on the ramble.

I received an eBook from the author for purpose of honest review for the Indies Rock promotion at I am, Indeed. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

About the Author:

I am lucky enough to live in south west France with my husband and daughter.  When I moved to France my life changed tremendously. Although we are all Europeans there are huge cultural differences between the French and the English. I also moved from a city to a country life, became a mother and later an English teacher. In London I worked in finance and my life was one big rush. They take things a lot more slowly here in a little French village and that took some getting used to.  I have now slowed down several cogs and really appreciate the way of life I have here.  I appreciate nature a lot more than I did in England and I love to walk in the countryside around my home. It was this new found love of nature and walking that lead me to the holiday in Ireland that I describe in my book. I hope you find that you have the time to slow down and leaf through the pages.

Find and Follow Kerry at:  Website § Facebook § @dwyerkerry § goodreads 

IndieButton_edited-1

 

Leave a Reply

