Review: Byzantine Gold, Dangerous Waters # 2 by Chris Karlsen

ByzantineGoldBookReveiwTour

 


You can enter the drawing for several great prizes, and see the other tour stops  by going here

ByzantineGold 500x750 (1)
Title:
Byzantine Gold
Series: Dangerous Waters #2
Author: Chris Karlsen
Genre: Romantic Thriller
Publisher: Books to Go Now
Format: Paperback and ebook
Length: 72k words/ 287 Pages
Purchase:Amazon | Barnes&Noble
Stars:  3

See the trailer HERE 

Book Description:  

Night Owl Reviews Reviewer Top Pick – 5 Stars    “Once again, Ms. Karlsen delivers. Byzantine Gold is full of beautiful scenery, a tension-filled plot, and strong characters worth rooting for.”

A sunken warship from the Byzantine Era carrying an unusual cargo of gold has been found off the coast of Northern Cyprus. News of the valuable cache has attracted the attention of a terrorist cell. They plan to attack the recovery team’s campsite and steal the artifacts. On the Black Market, the sale of the relics will buy them additional weapons.

Charlotte Dashiell, an American archaeologist, and her lover, Atakan Vadim, a Turkish government agent, are scheduled to be part of the recovery team that brings up the artifacts. While en route to Cyprus, they find themselves caught in the crosshairs of Maksym Tischenko, a Ukrainian contract killer bent on revenge. Charlotte, Atakan and Tischenko share a grim history. As a result, Tischenko is a man who will stop at nothing to achieve his goal—seeing them both dead.

Book Review:

I had read and enjoyed Golden Chariot, which is the first book in this series and provides an introduction to Charlotte and introduces Atakan and their romance. In this installment (can be read as a stand-alone without great difficulty for the reader) Karlsen again blends major plotting elements to create an action-filled story.

While the basic plot is centered around the preservation and discovery of archaeological treasures, she has added in additional dangers and more layers of ancient conflict for this politically turbulent region. With an eye for characterization, we do get the ability to better know the ‘bad guys’ and their reasoning, as the story is divided into chapters that highlight an event, or character to better provide insight. Peppered with historical detail, factual elements and the frisson of romance between Charlotte and Atakan, there are many different elements that will speak to readers.

There are places in the story where I longed for more detail, and while the conclusion to this installment was satisfactory, it did feel simplistic and a bit rushed, with far more loose ends left unanswered. My hope is that another installment will give more solid answers to questions yet unaddressed, but do suggest this as a good afternoon read for something “different” in a suspense with romantic elements.

I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review for Full Moon Bites tour. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.


About the Author: 

I was born and raised in Chicago. My father was a history professor and my mother was, and is, a voracious reader. I grew up with a love of history and books.

My parents also love traveling, a passion they passed onto me. I wanted to see the places I read about, see the land and monuments from the time periods that fascinated me. I’veSONY DSC had the good fortune to travel extensively throughout Europe, the Near East, and North Africa.

I am a retired police detective. I spent twenty-five years in law enforcement with two different agencies. My desire to write came in my early teens. After I retired, I decided to pursue that dream.

I currently live in the Pacific Northwest with my husband, four rescue dogs and a rescue horse.

Website | Pinterest |

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: Byzantine Gold, Dangerous Waters # 2 by Chris Karlsen

  1. Good Day, I wish to thank I Am, Indeed for taking the time to read and review Byzantine Gold. I look forward to chatting with everyone about the story and upcoming books. Pinterest has book boards for all my novels with my “dream” cast for each.
    Chris Karlsen

Leave a Reply

