Read Along and Review: How Not To Kiss a Toad, Cindy Eller Cupcakes # 1 by Elizabeth A. Reeves

How NOT To Kiss A Toad Banner

Be sure you check out all the days of the tour for the other excerpts – Tour Stops

bookcovertoad
Title:
 How Not to Kiss a Toad
Author:  Elizabeth A. Reeves
Format:  Paperback, eBook and AudioBook
Publisher:  Self-Published
Pages:  318
ISBN:   978-1480272132
Source:  Purchased for Self
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Cindy Eller Cupcakes # 1
Best Read in Order: yes
Stars: 4
Purchase Now:    Amazon §  AudioBook § Barnes&Noble

About the Book:

Life isn’t always sweet for magical baker, Cindy Eller. All her life she’s been cursed – every man she’s ever kissed has turned into a toad. Love isn’t likely to come her way. If that weren’t a big enough problem, her “curse” has come to the attention of the Council of Magic and she may never be able to use her powers.

Enter the perfect man – handsome, sweet, and loves food just as much as Cindy does. It would seem to be a match made in Heaven, or is it? Cindy isn’t the only one keeping secrets. With toads, cupcakes, romance, magic and ice cream, life never has time to get dull!

Day 6 – Read Along

Before I knew it, Jessi arrived at the bakery to open it for the day. She surveyed the display cases and the bread rack behind the counter and shook her head. “Did you pull another all-nighter?”

I nodded. I was still on a magic high from all the creating, but I knew that I was heading for a crash, if I didn’t get a quick nap. “Make the coffee, will you?” I yawned, heading to the far back of the bakery, where a nice comfy chair was set up just for me.

I was out cold and snoring the second my bum hit the chair. I happily dreamed about making cannoli with lavender honey cream.

When I awoke, the bakery was well into its early morning rush. I helped Jessi dole out the goodies until she shooed me back to the kitchen.

I made cannoli.

They were a big hit. In no time at all, it seemed, we were sold out and I was measuring out homemade fresh ricotta again.

Jessi stuck her head into the kitchen not long after I sent a new tray up to let me know that our customers were hooked.

“We might have to make cannoli a permanent addition to the menu,” Jessi said. “Someone wants to give compliments to the chef. Can you come out?”

I was elbows deep in dough for my cinnamon butter rolls, but I dusted a little flour off of my arms and went out to meet my fan. It was kind of exciting to have my presence requested, as if I were a super star of pastry.

I came out of the kitchen, patting flour dust out of my favorite apron. It featured a grinning skeleton with a bow on her head and right now she had a flour beard to rival Santa’s. I tucked a stray coppery curl back under the bandana I wore over my hair.

Someone was standing near the register. It had to be my fan. He turned towards me. I reached out a hand to shake his. Our eyes met.

And I slipped.

I thought I had a good thirty seconds of hang time while all of the customers stared with horror before I landed hard on my rear end and slid into the wall with a resounding THUD!

My head hit the glass door of the large display fridge where we kept the cheesecakes. I could feel a goose egg rising even as I struggled to my feet.

My cheek bone was already throbbing and, by the tenderness of my face, I knew I was going to end up with black eye.

“Omigosh,” Jessi shrieked so fast that it became one word. “Are you OK?”

 

Book Review:

As the start of a new magical culinary series, this is a winner. Cindy has a big problem, every man she kisses turns into a Toad. Most only stay transformed for a short time, but Nathan is an exception. If that wasn’t bad enough, Cindy has difficulty managing her magic: while it results in tremendously innovative and exciting pastries, when she is extremely stressed her magic runs haywire.

I really did enjoy this story: the clever addition of magic and the ‘sneak peeks’ into the inventive flavor combinations, as well as the toad element made moments of this book laugh out loud funny, and kept the story flowing beautifully. The interaction between Cindy and her roommates was clever and well-designed; detailing a strong and solid friendship with supportive characters.

I’ve just bought the second book in this series because I want to see just what happens to Cindy and her bakery options.

I purchased a copy of the ebook for my own library prior to the opportunity to tour the title with Full Moon Bites tours. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Leave a Reply

